Wine club

With the holidays and cold weather, I haven’t been as good about trying out new activities and keeping up with them. I do have plans to start up ballet classes again soon, and I think I’ll look into knitting classes. In a recent post, I said I was going to do a Tuesday night running club, but I admit that I’ve been too lazy and not motivated to go. I think I’ll start looking into races for the spring and sign up for something to get myself running again. Maybe I’ll go big and try a 10k…? Eek!

I did join a couple of wine clubs recently, so I thought I’d write a little about those. First, I joined a wine club at a local wine bar, because I wanted to start learning more about wine, plus I thought maybe I could make some new friends at the pick up parties they hold once a month. I went to my first pickup party back in November and brought my husband, and we enjoyed a tasting and some cheese and crackers. They served tastings of four different Australian wines and let us choose two of them to bring home. We actually decided to take home two whites, which is probably pretty uncommon in the wine club, but the reds were so dry. Who knows though, I could probably try the reds today and love them, my tastes vary so much and just depend on what I feel like that day.

This is the wine we liked the most that night:

The next day, I looked up a different wine bar nearby and decided to sign up for their wine club too to compare 🙂 Both of them can be canceled anytime, so I figured it wouldn’t hurt to get four bottles per month for a few months until we decide we have too much wine!

At the beginning of December, both wine clubs had their pickup parties on the same day, but one took place from 4 – 6 pm and one lasted from 5 – 9 pm. Luckily, they’re only about 10 minutes apart from each other, so it wasn’t hard to go from one to the other. My husband and I went to the new wine club first, where we tried the two wine club wines (no choice at this one), and they had cheese and crackers as well. One of the cheeses was a mustard cheese, which I had never heard of before, but I really loved it. I think this might have been it, I would definitely recommend trying it!

Mustard Cheese

The two wines at this wine club were a Cabernet Sauvignon from California, and a sparkling red from Austria. Both were very tasty.

After we finished up at the first wine club, we drove over to the second wine club, where they were serving Italian wines this time. We ended up choosing a prosecco and a red wine that I can’t remember too much about. They were pretty much out of the cheese and crackers when we arrived and they never refilled the platters, so that was a little disappointing, but we probably had enough cheese for the night at the first wine bar anyway.

So far, my husband and I have enjoyed the wine club parties, but we haven’t been brave enough to socialize with other people at them, and it seems like people come in pairs to the events and just talk to each other. Oh well. Next month, if the wine club parties aren’t on the same day maybe we’ll stay longer and order a glass of wine and attempt to mingle a little bit.

Leave a comment